Trisha’s Guide to Business Travel

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, where every story is a surprise. This week’s photo prompt is courtesy of Rich Voza. Thank you, Rich!

The airplane landing at sunset (or is it sunrise?) made me think of the long days and nights that I spent flying to our corporate office on business. Despite the long work hours, I always tried to make time to visit a gallery or a new restaurant, even if I never got to do any proper sightseeing. I don’t think I could have tolerated the travel without those small personal treats.

But I wondered what it might be like for others. For example, I met Irv when we worked on a special project together. Irv was Controller of one of our subsidiaries. He’d been coming to the west coast for monthly meetings for ten years, but always had dinner in his hotel. He had never seen any other part of the city. For ten years!!!  So…I “forcefully persuaded” him to go out to some wonderful ethnic restaurants and see/hear/taste things he had never seen/heard/tasted before.

Trisha, my protagonist, is much younger and prettier than Irv, but suffers from the same lackluster syndrome.

airplane rich voza

Photo Copyright: Rich Voza

 

Trisha’s Guide to Business Travel

by Jan Brown

Trisha hated Los Angeles. 

Mostly, she hated business travel. The long flights to Los Angeles were obnoxious, the meetings even more so.

This trip, she resolved to enjoy herself–not just sit in her hotel with piles of work and room service. She found a new favorite restaurant on the beach. The owner looked like a rock star, his long hair held back with a colorful bandana. He was always smiling! Trisha wondered if she would ever be that happy.

One night, he brought dinner to her table and sat down. They talked till closing, and beyond. Way beyond.

Trisha loves Los Angeles.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To read more Friday Fictioneers’ stories, click the link below.

For more information or to post your own story, please visit our lovely leader’s website, author Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Addicted to Purple.

24 thoughts on “Trisha’s Guide to Business Travel

  1. Awww, how nice. Yes, I think Trish will be happy in L.A. Gotta look for that silver lining. Good work, Jan!

    Funny thing was I started humming, “Aruba, Jamaica, ooh, I wanna take ya …”

    • I was hoping they’d get engaged and live happily ever after. But that is probably not realistic. Hmmm…am I turning into a romantic? Maybe I should go back to writing stories where I kill off my characters (or they kill each other). I’m getting soft in my old age….

Leave a Reply

