Look Beyond

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, where every story is a surprise! Especially mine…because it is poetry rather than prose. I hope you enjoy it.

The photo prompt this week is courtesy of fellow Fictioneer Doug MacIlroy. Doug’s photos are always intriguing. When I saw this sculpture, I wondered about the process of the artist. I wondered how this sculptor might look at the world, and how s/he would ideate and create other forms of art, such as painting, photography or music.

If you would like to read other Friday Fictioneers’ work, click the blue frog below my poem. If you would like to create your own 100-word work of art, visit our fearless leader’s website–Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ Addicted to Purple.

Photo Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

Photo Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

she made sculpture
from junk
it was art

she drew success
out of dismal failure
it went viral

she captured humanity
in the world’s ugliness
it was beautiful

if you wondered how
she would say simply
look beyond the visible

beneath the sadness
of the homeless man’s smile
a reflection of heaven

through the heart’s eye
the colors of the city
swirl and come alive

each image
a multi-layered mystery
ready to unfold

each soul
a beautiful gem
ready to sparkle

each song
a thrilling aria
striking the clouds

this voice
inside a broken heart
ready at last to speak

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

41 thoughts on “Look Beyond

  1. I can picture this being read out in front of a crowd of listeners, stillness in the air whilst the reader’s voice is crystal clear; a young woman’s voice that draws you in and takes you on a journey. I found this poem of yours really focused my thoughts.

  2. Brava, Jan! What a moving piece. It’s so fluid and reads so well, and you say things simply, but they convey so much depth. One of my favorites this week!

  3. Such a beautiful poem, and I like how you question the motivation of the artist. As a biologist, this never even occurred to me (to question). I saw the sculpture and thought, yay, great, a saurus… I very much like the different perspective, thank you for pointing it out.

    • Than you, Bjorn. Yes, I think artists draw so much beauty and light from the darkness of the world. Even when they create something stark (like the plesiosaurus “skeleton”) it reverberates with meaning. I really admire that ability.

Leave a Reply

