Thankful

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, where every story is a surprise. Every week between Wednesday and Friday, writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt. If you’d like to read other Fictioneers’ stories or post one of your own, click here. For more information, visit the website of our fabulous, hard-working leader, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Photo Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

Photo Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

Thankful

by Jan Brown

I was on my way to a new life, driving from CalTech to my new job in San Francisco. My parents said  it was once a beautiful drive. I can’t imagine that world. Now there are just two metropolitan areas, separated by an arid wasteland.

I stopped to connect my car to a charging station at the side of the road. Women travelling alone were at risk, even after the law passed requiring all women to be issued a handgun when they turned twenty-one. Today, as the predators charged out of the silo, I thanked the legislature for their foresight.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

40 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. How depressing!
    These days feminists groups are encouraging parents, teachers, legislatures, and other leaders to emphasize MORE on teaching young men it is not okay to rape rather than teaching young women to always be wary. I have hopes for a world like that. But you have shot it down.
    Very depressing.

    • Nooooo, don’t let me shoot down your hope!!!!!!!

      I agree, it’s depressing…I felt the bleakness of the photo, and let it run its course in my imagination.

    • Thank you! Your story was a great read as well (Blogger wouldn’t let me comment on your website, so I’ll do it here.) i hope the dog is able to run away. I agree with the other commenter who feared the dog would be next!

    • Thank you! I actually believe the next generation will do a much better job of reversing the environmental damage we’ve inflicted. When I see how smart and environmentally conscious my niece and nephew are, it gives me hope for the world 😊

    • Yes, California’s running out of water but i’m envisioning that there is still enough to support the high tech educators and researchers in Southern California and IT employers up north. Getting between the two enclaves is the tricky part!

  2. Personally, I find pistol packing mamas kind of sexy. I’m sure there’s going to be a slot for your credit card at those charging stations. But who’ll check the oil and wash the windshield?

  3. Oh, how bleak, Jan. The arid landscape and being required to have a gun. I wouldn’t want to be a part of that world. But, behold the predators coming out of the silo! Yikes.Very vivid. Well done.

    • I agree; that life would be too difficult for me! Thank you for your kind comment, Irene. I appreciate the feedback, and I’m glad you liked the story.

  4. Your world is well painted – a bleak and dangerous place. I like the dtama of the ending, with the predators rushing out, and the lady ready with her gun. Great finish.

  5. A very bleak future you paint here, and you paint it so real. I hate the idea that the only way to deal with other humans is to shoot them. A lot of food for thought, great story.

  6. California has depleted a lot of resources; the droughts are worse than ever. We can all hope that it doesn’t get this bad! …Though Mad Max was just released. Real life isn’t so entertaining as far as dystopian futures go, I’d think.

    • You’re right about real life…there are drought conditions and clean water shortages around the world that are very scary. Thank you for reading and commenting!

  7. You would think they would have charging stations in less bleak areas if there is such danger. Then again, once upon a time, it was not as dangerous!

    Great story!

Leave a Reply

