Aubade – NaPoWriMo Day 6

Vision of Time by rolffimages-fotolia.com

Vision of Time by rolffimages – Fotolia.com

Aubade to the Sandman and/or Jon Stewart

by Jan Brown

~~~

sun rays spill past the edges

of the window shade

was it really three hours?

the sandman was more vigilant

than usual

or his frenemy, St. Insomnia,

was less

~~~

in a fog of sleep deprivation

and searing pain

I cannot honestly say

“Good morning”

so I take my pills and wonder

could I find another three hours

with the right combination

of medicine

and a fluffy pillow

~~~

no???

then perhaps I will lay quietly

and watch last night’s TV on my phone

Jon Stewart entertained the rest of the planet

while I tried to darken my world and sleep

presumably, he was more successful

at his task than I

now, perhaps, he can cheer me up

and help me face the humorless day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Playing catch-up: will need to post two poems today. (Oh, the horror!)

The NaPoWriMo prompt for Day 6 was to write an aubade–a morning poem. Usually, an aubade involves bidding farewell to a lover with whom one has spent the prior evening. However, the prompt asks us to focus on the start of the new day, with or without “lovey-dovey” stuff.  I chose without, obviously.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

4 thoughts on “Aubade – NaPoWriMo Day 6

Leave a Reply

