When We Were Young

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! We are a community of writers from around the world who post 100-word stories between Wednesday and Friday each week. The stories are all based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  Please visit Rochelle’s blog for more information…and join us if you wish!

This week’s photo is by fellow writer Sandra Crook. Thank you, Sandra!

Sandra Crook river img_0818

Photo Copyright – Sandra Crook

When We Were Young

by Jan Brown

When we were 20, we met by the river. He was fishing; I was birdwatching and practically tripped over him. He said I was the finest thing he had caught all day.

When we were 30, we bought a raft and paddled our way through whitewater rapids and waterfalls.

When we were 40, we bought a canoe and glided through still waters. We lay on the side of the river, making love under the stars.

When I was 50, I drove back to the place we met, but the river was filled with trash.

I could not scatter his ashes there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you missed my blog post on the Pacific “trash vortex,” (and you probably DID miss it!) you can read it here.

To read more Friday Fictioneers’ stories, click the link:

44 thoughts on “When We Were Young

  1. This is well done! Short and sweet, very condensed. You let us know indirectly that he is dead. We don’t need to know when or how. The trashed river reflects the narrator’s life that is currently trashed because he is gone.

    Carma

    • Thank you so much! It really is very condensed! I edited out about a third of the original content. I’m glad that the metaphor of the dying river still resonates.

      I appreciate your reading and commenting on my story. I love hearing from you!

  2. It is most certainly a wow story.

    Am thinking you write a little as I do and I will be stalking you around cyberspace henceforth.. xx

  3. A gorgeous story this week, Jan. You pulled me in, and then pulled me along with your brilliant pacing and beautiful story telling. Heart-breaking end, that I almost saw coming– but not enough so that it didn’t leave me holding my breath!

  4. Jan, I agree that it was a lifetime of love in a very few words. How sad that he died in middle age and she couldn;t sprinkle his ashes where they spent so much time. It was realistic though and well written. — Susan

Leave a Reply

