Teenage Dream

Happy Thanksgiving, and welcome to Friday Fictioneers! We are a community of writers from around the world who post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  Please visit Rochelle’s blog for more information…and join us if you wish!

This week’s photo is by fellow writer Randy Mazie. Thank you, Randy!

I have been absent awhile, focusing on my health, recovery from surgery and the various successes and failures of physical therapy. I hope I am moving forward, and I am thankful for the medical professionals who make that happen.

I am thankful for the friends and relatives who love me and whom I love. I am thankful for Olga, who is making delicious turkey tomorrow.

I am thankful for the freedom to think, talk, write, tweet and post anything I want—even if, most days, I am too tired to do so.

I am thankful for my faith which, while shaken many times, continues to hold a beacon of hope. Can we live very long without hope? I don’t think so. The human spirit wants to believe we can continue to evolve, to create something better, a better version of ourselves and of the world.

I am thankful for you, dear readers, for your caring comments and lovely “Likes.” You put a smile on my face! I hope my story will do the same for you.

bike_detour_at_library_randy_mazie

Teenage Dream

by Jan Brown

AGE 16:

I hate Thanksgiving!

Okay, what I really hated was LAST Thanksgiving, when my boyfriend came home from college and broke up with me.

My friends had warned me that our relationship was doomed. He went away to college, not just to learn about history or political science, but to learn about the world and, especially, to meet new people.

And he did.

Damn it!

AGE 17:

My cousin brought two of his studly study group members to Thanksgiving dinner this year. I am currently dating both of them.

The future is looking much brighter now.

I love Thanksgiving!

To read more Friday Fictioneers’ stories, click the link below:

37 thoughts on “Teenage Dream

  1. Dear Jan,

    I’m thankful to see you back among us with one of your stellar stories. You’ve captured the hormonal and fickle voice of a teenage girl.

    Welcome back and Happy Thanksgiving.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Like Mark Twain who thought his parents could mature so much in seven short years, even one year for a teen can be a world of difference – even of (gasp: amazing) life and death situations like a lost crush.
    Randy

  3. Jan. so thankful to see you back again.. after all you once lured me into this writing community by your great stories.. hope that you are on your way to feeling better.. your story capture the hormonal mood-swings so perfectly.. teenage girls.. can you ever truly understand them?

  4. Dear Jan, Great story and cleverly written! Teenage girls are so fickle and flighty too. I know I was somewhat. I laughed out loud with her ‘My life’s over’ attitude until the next Thanksgiving. So absolutely spot on, Jan. EXCELLENT! Nan 🙂

  5. Dear Jan,

    Know this…You are missed when you are gone. Your writing is consistently good and your spirit shines out from behind your words. I am glad to see you again and read what you have written.

    Your story is impossibly perfect, almost as if it was you who was dating the two study group boys.

    Welcome back to the party, pal.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

