NaPoWriMo 8 – Christopher Marlowe, Rewritten

Today’s challenge is to “rewrite” a famous poem. I’ve chosen Christopher Marlowe’s The Passionate Shepherd to His Love, and updated it a bit. Actually, I updated it a lot. After all, it’s been over 400 years….

The Passionate Player to His New GF

by Jan Brown, with apologies to Christopher Marlowe

Come live with me and be my lover
Just you and me, I swear, no other
Unless you’re feeling wild and raw
Then we could try ménage à trois

We’ll sit upon the leather chair
And watch TV without a care
With rivers of wine and champagne falls
While Glee Club girls sing madrigals

My king-sized bed is just for you
The comforter is fluffy, too
Embroidered all with leaves and grass
You can pose on top–what a beautiful ass!

I love this photo; you’re such a ham
I’m posting it to Instagram
And Facebook, so my friends can see
Just how much you’re into me

Jeans of leather and red rose buds
With coral clasp and diamond studs
And if these pleasures move you, girl
Come ride in my G-6 around the world

My entourage will dance and sing
From wee hours unto late morning
If you dig me more than any other
Then live with me and be my lover

 

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 8 – Christopher Marlowe, Rewritten

Leave a Reply

