NaPoWriMo 7 – Golden Gate

Today’s NaPoWriMo challenge is to write a love poem about an inanimate object.

Photo Copyright: Jan Brown

I love

the view

from the bridge

when my white-knuckled

steering wheel and stiff neck

can finally relax enough to look

I love that you take me over the ocean

to Sausalito, Marin and John Muir Woods

I loved the drive down Lombard that brought me to you

of course, that was before they realized how preposterous it was

to let tourists drive rented cars on the crookedest street in the world

I love that you take me back to The City, the city of Armistead Maupin

to the city of Marcia Muller, Bill Pronzini, Sharon McCone and Nameless

I love that every picture I take has that annoying shrub that throws off the balance

and I love that you allow me to fly across the water to retrieve my heart yet once again

Leave a Reply

