NaPoWriMo 5 – Recurring Dream

National Poetry Writing Month continues….

The fifth challenge is to write a “golden shovel,” a poem that is based on an existing poem. Each word of the existing poem becomes the last word of the corresponding line in the new poem.

I chose one of Basho’s haiku:

falling sick on a journey
my dream goes wandering
over a field of dried grass

– Basho

 Recurring Dream

by Jan Brown


I am free falling
nauseous and heartsick
seeking a cushion to fall on
inwardly sputtering, screaming a
curse, begging God to end the journey

I am living the nightmare–my
brain usually jerks awake from this  dream
my shaken soul then goes
home to begin further pointless wandering

but tonight, it’s over
I make a final spiral downward to a
lifeless, frozen field
a frigid nothingness whereof
I made my own sorrows, dried
my tears on brittle blades of grass

◊◊◊

7 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 5 – Recurring Dream

  1. Pingback: Bleeding Dream (NaPoWriMo, Day 6) « Stories in 5 Minutes

  2. Pingback: Hopes Make Me Sick (NaPoWriMo, Day 5) | Stories in 5 Minutes

  3. Pingback: Step Away From The Tsunami (NaPoWriMo, Day 2) | Stories in 5 Minutes

Leave a Reply

