NaPoWriMo 2 – It’s Not the Day

National Poetry Writing Month continues….

The second NaPoWriMo challenge is to write a poem based on a random quote from literature provided by The Bibliomancy Oracle.  The “oracle” provided me with the following gem:

it is a lack of faith makes the days

(those joyed and those

sorrowed)

so very long and waiting.

*

from “Radio” by Stephanie Barber

 

As I thought about this quote, I had a very strong response. I realized that it’s not my faith that is lacking, and it’s not my days that are  “so very long and waiting.”

 

It’s Not the Day

by Jan Brown

it’s not the morning

that is agonizing

it’s not the noonday sun

that sears me

it’s not the rainy afternoon

nor the prescient dusk

not even the chilly evening

with frozen diet dinner and wine

it’s not the day

that steals my joy

it’s the night

the screaming night

it’s the pain

winding through the bedroom

like a hunger

seeking to be sated

it’s the heavy lidded eyes

not allowed to close

it’s the medicated brain

separated from its bliss

it’s not the day

that steals my joy

it’s the night

the too long night

◊◊◊

April is also Jazz Appreciation Month (JAM). One of the things that can shorten a long night of sleeplessness and pain is the right music, and for me, that music is usually jazz. “Joy and Pain” is an upbeat song and one of my favorites–performed by Simply Red at the Montreux Jazz Festival.  There is also a quieter, instrumental version on the Smooth Jazz All Stars album that is perfect for bedtime 🙂

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2 – It’s Not the Day

Leave a Reply

