No Country for Old Men

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is by John Nixon. Thank you, John!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo Copyright: John Nixon

 

No Country for Old Men (with apologies to the Coen Brothers)

by Jan Brown

Our secret meeting place was deep in the woods. The ancient, gnarled trees reminded me of the elderly masses, crippled and dying in last year’s pandemic.

No one over 50 survived. Some thought it was a vast Republican conspiracy to cut back “entitlements” like Social Security. Or to rid the White House of a certain President who recently turned 50.

“Did you bring it?” The voice behind me was close, its cold breath on my neck.

“Yes, it’s the only vaccine. Enough for all five sons. But I’m curious. Why weren’t you affected?”

Mitt’s robotic smile gave me the answer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Click the link to read other Friday Fictioneers’ stories:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

55 thoughts on “No Country for Old Men

  1. What a great take, Jan. I like the secret meeting place in these crazy woods to dispense vaccines. And the last line was quite unexpected. You’re always full of surprises.

  2. This is such a clever portrayal of real-life characters and events. It’s very unsettling because, well, it doesn’t seem like such an unrealistic concept anymore. I also love how the title perfectly correlates with the conspiracy within the story! Great work!

  3. I got a kick out of this one, Jan. There is definitely no hope for me – an independant over 50. Good thing my book is coming out before the pandemic hits. the only problem is, most of my audience is over 50.

  4. No Hope for me either, Jan. The Coen brothers are right. What a great story! You are so clever. Remember when “No one under thirty can be trusted!” Well, we’re all getting older. Oh well, Nan 🙂

  5. Hi Jan,
    I don’t think this could happen, because Republicans never do anything. So Obama is the one behind the pandemic. At least that’s what I heard on Fox news. Crazy, twisted story for a crazy, twisted photo! Ron

Leave a Reply

