Too Much Beauty, Not Enough Beast

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is by Sandra Crook, taken on one of her many travels through France. Thank you, Sandra!

There is an 18th century French operetta called “Zémire et Azor” that is based on the story, La Belle et la Bête (Beauty and the Beast). Although Disney chose the more easily pronounceable “Belle” for the main character, Sandra’s photo of traffic in the French village inspired me to keep the original French names. Of course, I’ve updated the fable a bit 🙂

hay-bales-sandra-c

Too Much Beauty, Not Enough Beast

by Jan Brown

“Azor, I’m back from my trip! Sorry I’m late–traffic’s a mess!”

Azor shouted from the top of the stairs, “Close your eyes!”

She did, and when she opened them, he stood before her, radiantly handsome.

“I had laser hair removal while you were away. Also got my teeth straightened and had a lovely mani-pedi. Do you like it?”

“No, you’re prettier than me!”

“I thought you would love me, once I was handsome.”

“I loved you before, idiot.” She stomped out the door.

“Her loss,” he muttered, and sat down at the computer to complete his online dating profile.

****************************************************************************

For more Friday Fictioneers’ tales, click the link below:

 

****************************************************************************

36 thoughts on “Too Much Beauty, Not Enough Beast

  1. ha, ha. Not wasting anytime here. That’s one thing about guys…they just move on. You’d think we gals could learn the same thing, instead of pining away endlessly. Good one!

  2. Ha!ha!Jan,I loved this modern B & B-the best entry on FF so far(& and I do think I have read almost all)-like his attitude-there are definitely more fish in the sea-hurrah for net and its snares ‘;-)Awesome!

  3. Ohmygod Belle’s a rea; narcissistic creature in this story! Atleast Azor was prepared for this kind of thing- loved the way he brushed off her silly rejection and got back to “work” 😀 Nice take on the original story! Love it!

Leave a Reply

