Nephew

This is in response to the February 19th NaHaiWriMo theme of the day: “baby.”  It prompted me to think back to a horrible winter 32 years ago, when it was 25 degrees below zero (Farenheit) with strong gusts of wind at my mother’s graveside.

But the most wonderful nephew in the world kept us busy later at home. I remember the smell of the soy formula that he burped down the back of my burgundy tunic. I remember how he cried constantly, unless I walked him around the house, holding him up high. I remember his sweet smile when I did.

Thank you, Rob.

at the funeral

baby cries and coos

cycle of life

Leave a Reply

