Single Again

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! We are a community of writers from around the world who post 100-word stories each week, based on a photo prompt provided by our effervescent leader, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s photo is by Janet Webb. Thank you, Janet!

janet-webbs-sangria

Single Again

by Jan Brown

My handbag was bulging. It contained a very fat envelope with the cash proceeds of our joint savings account.

At the tapas bar, my husband was almost finished with his third pitcher of sangria. I poured the rest into his glass, adding a little something extra. He made a face as he gulped it down, but didn’t comment on the bitterness.

That night, I performed a little magic with hair dye and scissors. I looked in the mirror, and a hot rocker chick looked back. But something was missing. Actually, two things. But I can afford a boob job now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more Friday Fictioneers’ stories here:

66 thoughts on “Single Again

  1. Oh, Perry (Waaa waaa waaaaaaaah) I swear I hear the laugh track from Three’s Company every time he enters the room.
    Anyhow, looks like poison was on everyone’s mind this week. If anyone ever goes missing, this will be the first place the police look!

  2. How very cool-clever chick this and now that the coast is clear ,she can get the enhancements -no stopping her then ;-)Loved this totally-am still chuckling Jan 🙂

  3. I don’t know if I could stand 3 pitchers of sangria. I’d probably keel over after the 1st one. She’ll be looking quite perky after she get’s her headlights readjusted.

Leave a Reply

