Recognize

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is by Jean L. Hays. Thank you, Jean!

Dolphin jean L hays

Recognize

by Jan Brown

I was finally free. I celebrated that freedom every day in my studio, a tiny loft overlooking the bay. The only thing I took from my old life was my nest egg, which I invested in equipment to continue my artwork in stained glass.

The local news featured my work when they covered the art show on the beach. That was how he found me.

I could change my hair color and my name, but I couldn’t change my artwork.

I would always be recognizable.

What he didn’t recognize was my newfound strength, the fearlessness of independence.

And my Glock-19.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For more Friday Fictioneers’ stories, click the link below:

53 thoughts on “Recognize

    • Thank you, Alistair! I remember that movie–how Julia Roberts’ character saved money from her part-time job and how she secretly became a strong swimmer in order to fake her death. Very suspenseful! Maybe that tenacity is what I built into my protagonist. She, too, is determined to survive.

  1. Gee, I hope you didn’t accept money from the National Rife Association for that post. Couldn’t they have reasoned it out? Or couldn’t you have shown her getting a background check and taking courses in responsible gun ownership prior to whacking him? Still good story with a great surprise ending. POW!!!

    • Sorry about that! Didn’t have the word count available to describe the protagonist’s process in learning self defense techniques and firearms safety. But I don’t think she’ll have to whack him. Wife abusers are basically cowards, and if someone bigger (or with heavier weaponry) comes along, their will to fight can quickly turn to flight. If not…well….

      Anyway, my wish for the NRA (and many other lobbying groups and SuperPACs with overstuffed bank accounts) is that they fall off the face of the earth, or at least our nation’s capital, and stop saying stupid stuff after every school shooting and mass murder. My protagonist doesn’t need them on her side.

  2. Such a smooth gentle beginning I was taken completely unawares by the clouds gathering towards the final lines, and then.. bang! What a killer ending. Great piece Jan, I really enjoyed it. Merry Christmas 🙂

  3. Oh, very ‘Sleeping with the Enemy’! If you wanted to go full-blown Hammer Horror with this, you could have your character, after putting him to sleep with the Glock, embed bits of him (I won’t say which bits, only that they be bits not instantly recognisable) inside a stained glass panel. Now there’s artistic revenge for you. If Damien Hirst can do it, why not your character?

Leave a Reply

