Happy Thanksgivikah

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is by Ted Strutz. Thank you, Ted!

This year, the eight days of Chanukah begin on Thanksgiving eve. This is a rare occurrence, and one to be celebrated. Mazel Tov! Or…Gobble Tov!

Naturally, I had to find some music to celebrate the occasion. The Maccabeats, an a cappella vocal group from Yeshiva University, have received over 10 million hits on their YouTube videos. In addition to being adorable, they are involved in a campaign to save lives by matching potential bone marrow donors with recipients. I’ve also included a link to the Miracle Match charity site below.

May you all have a meaningful Thanksgiving, and a Happy Chanukah!

ferry copyright-ted-strutz

Happy Thanksgivikah

by Jan Brown

Last year I missed New Year’s Eve. I missed my nephew’s bris. This year I’m missing both Chanukah and Thanksgiving: a two-for-one family disappointment.

My handler assures me it’s because of my linguistic skills. It’s hard to find an agent on holidays, particularly one who speaks fluent Pashto and Farsi. I tell him I’m fluent in the romance languages as well, but he’s never asked me to be in Paris or Milan on Rosh Hashanah. Damn it.

I walked onto the empty ferry just before sunset. My parents, my brother, my sister and their families jumped out: “Surprise! Happy Chanukah!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Maccabeats have teamed up with Mayim Bialik of “The Big Bang Theory” to raise funds for Miracle Match, a bone marrow donor matching campaign. Click here for more info: https://www.makesomemiracles.com/miracle-match-2013

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To enjoy more Friday Fictioneers’ stories, click the link below:

46 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgivikah

  1. I’ll bet the nephew would have liked to have missed his bris as well. Nice little story, especially for me since I absolutely love “Pashto and Farsi,” which I think is the best buddy cop show since “Starsky and Hutch.” Have a good holiday, Jan! (Is your story in the grid? I didn’t see it there.)

  2. Wonderful, Jan! You know your holidays! Tonight we lit the candles and this Macabeats song is one of my very favorites! Glad you included it. 😉 The way you roll through the holidays and line up the relationships and characters, it’s brilliant! One of my favorites this week. Mazel!

  3. Great happy ending to a really detailed spy story. I love that you could’t escape to Paris for the High Holidays! I myself am an exile – living among strangers in strange lands. All my families are gathering in Kansas City and San Francisco, but I made it back last year for the worst family Thanksgiving experience since my mother married my step father – and he’s been dead for five years – so it must have been really bad. I will stay an exile for a while longer yet…

    • Thank you for reading and commenting. I’m so sorry you had a disastrous Thanksgiving last year. Sometimes it is a happier occasion to be alone–or among friends of one’s choosing. I hope this year was better!

  4. Dear Jan,

    What a wonderful story for the prompt and Thanksgiving. I thought a bris was a barbecue or something. Quite taken aback upon researching it. Have to reset things in the archives of my pea brain.

    Thanks for the story and the music. You’re the best.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Dear Janet,

      Obviously someone has mistaken bris for brisket. 😉 Loved this story. Jewish connection aside, it’s well written and well told. Love the song. Glad your pea brain is now set in working order, Doug.

      Shalom,

      Rochelle

    • Oh, I think your brain is very big–just has too much crammed into it!

      What worries me, is the amount of “old” information I have to dump from my brain cells in order to make room for the new 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Doug.

Leave a Reply

