Free

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is by Jan Wayne Fields.

liberty - jan wayne fields

Free

by Jan Brown

I’ve lived in New York all my life, but never visited the Statue of Liberty until today. I ventured out with a small group from our women’s shelter.

What impressed me most was the broken shackle and chain at her feet. She was free. She was me. Releasing the old, embracing the new.

My jerk of an ex-husband was waiting when the ferry returned. He pulled out a gun, but I walked right up to him and grabbed it. The force of the gunshot blew me back onto the ground, and he slumped on top of me.

I was free.

Liberty - shackles - national park service

You can read other Fictioneers’ stories here:

41 thoughts on “Free

  1. Excellent, Jan. We both explored different types of freedom this week. And it’s so true that we often don’t see places where we live (unless we have company and show them around) as well as seeing other, less visible things.

    janet

  2. Dear Jan,

    That was a simple, good and powerful story. Lots of our bunch could take a page or two out of your book. Great job. The picture of the broken chain was an excellent touch.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. The message is powerful, but I don’t know if 100 words is enough to capture the true depth of such a situation. A longer piece would likely make a much stronger impact. Maybe that’s just me though.

    • Thank you, Ron! I always look forward to your stories and your comments.

      In my mind, the gun goes off inadvertently when she grabs it. The blowback sends her backwards and she falls to the ground. Her obsessed ex-hubby takes the bullet and slumps over, landing on top of her. Editing for word count, I lost the detail, so decided to let the reader interpret who shot whom. I left one clue in that he “slumped” onto her. But I think most readers saw a scene in which she, or both she and he, were killed. Either way, very sad.

Leave a Reply

