Some Things Never Change

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! This week’s photo prompt is provided by our fearless leader, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Thank you, Rochelle! Also, happy birthday to two of our group: Randy Mazie and the ever-ageless Rochelle.

There are so many intriguing miniatures in this keepsake display. I thought about the events and memories they represent to the owner and her family.  Are there larger versions of the baby carriage, the roller skates and the bicycle stored in the garage? I know there are full-size books, and definitely a wineglass or two, in the house! These are treasured family moments, encapsulated in time and transfigured in size.

Sweet, tiny reminders.

Or are they?

keepsakes by rochelle

Some Things Never Change

by Jan Brown

Everyone in my family has a special gift. My late brother could fly like the wind. Unfortunately, he used his gift primarily to impress his friends. He eventually slammed into a tree while showing off for a girl.

Then I discovered my own gift. I call it “augmentation.” Dolls and toys come to life at my beckoning.

I brought my mother’s genie figurine to life, and he offered me three wishes.

“Just one wish. Bring my brother back to me.”

He came back, but only for a few days. He flew into a mountain while showing off for a girl.

◊◊◊◊◊

I’ve always wanted to be somebody, but I should have been more specific.

– George Carlin

Read more Friday Fictioneers’ stories here:

48 thoughts on “Some Things Never Change

Leave a Reply

