Silenced

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  This week’s photo is by Roger Bultot. Thank you, Roger!

I hope you enjoy the musical tie-in this week!

copyright-roger-bultot

Silenced

by Jan Brown

A crash of lightning got us out of bed.

Derek pushed past me, knocking me down the stairs as he rushed outside.

I had planned to break up with him last night, but my resolve melted when he sang me a love song. No accompaniment–just the low, sexy baritone that always makes me forget his cruelty.

In the pre-dawn light, we saw Derek’s car, crushed by a fallen tree. A badly mangled guitar case poked out of the window like a broken wing.

He wept, but not because I was hurt. He had lost his cherished Les Paul guitar.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s a bit of music trivia for your enjoyment: Eric Clapton gave George Harrison a vintage Les Paul guitar, which Harrison dubbed “Lucy,” when the Beatles were working on the White Album. A month later, Harrison invited Clapton to play lead guitar for the studio recording of While My Guitar Gently Weeps, and Clapton recorded the track using Lucy. Hope you enjoy the song!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

39 thoughts on “Silenced

  1. And I suppose he couldn’t be bothered the night before to go and get his guitar out to accompany his love song. I love a good pay-back. Well done Jan

  2. Liked the way you worked Derek, weeped, and low sexy baritone (as well as Les Paul guitar) into the piece. And “the low, sexy baritone that always makes me forget his cruelty” is a very good line!

  3. That’s Clapton on While My Guitar Gently Weeps??? I didn’t know that, darling! Thank you for the musical trivia, and for the heartbreaking tale of loss — hey, I think having your guitar crushed would be tragic)

  4. Well, he certainly sounds like a jerk, but most real musicians are. I should know, being one myself and living with many a Les Paul guitar owner… Interesting that you chose the guitar to be the beloved destroyed item…Have you been down that road before?

    • Another commenter remarked that men can sometimes get hung up on the wrong things. It’s odd when the beloved is a thing and not a person. (Even if the “thing” is pretty awesome!)

  5. There is so much darkness trapped beneath this story! Many layers in a masterfully written flash.
    Musicians notoriously have a love and affection for their instruments (especially something as special as a Les Paul) which goes beyond bonds they are able to make with humans.
    As a musician and daughter of one, I empathise with Derek and then feel bad because I know he is a monster.

    • Musicians by nature are a little wacky (myself included) but Derek is just self-absorbed. Guys like him should come with a flashing neon “danger” sign to warn the uninitiated 😉

      Thank you for reading and commenting. The feedback is much appreciated!

  6. You hit the nail on the head with the psycho’s characterisation. His priorities Would be skewed. And the victim character, too. Curious dynamics : abuser and abused. Thanks for gentle George. Ann

  7. Jan, thanks for the song. I sense the darkness in their relationship, between the abused the abuser. I wondered if she thought he might take it out on her when he realized he lost his precious guitar. Great story.
    Amy

Leave a Reply

