A Vision of Earth

Welcome to Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo is an awesome view of Maui taken by Doug MacIlroy. Thank you, Doug!

The photo reminds us how beautiful our world is, and how easy it is to take that beauty for granted.  I just began watching back episodes of Battlestar Gallactica, and I’m struck by the sense of longing that the characters have, both for beauty and for home. They have lost their own planets–the twelve colonies they originally settled. They were vanquished by Cylons, a cybernetic race with advanced intelligence, strength and weaponry. (I know, it’s a science fiction cliché–the robot uprising. But a few of the Cylons are pretty interesting, not to mention sexy!)

The displaced humans are searching for a mythical thirteenth colony. It’s supposed to exist on a beautiful planet in the far reaches of the galaxy. The colony, the planet, is Earth.

Along the way, some of the males are distracted by an ethereal being who appears as a shapely and alluring female.  Unfortunately, humans long for beauty even when the truth is twisted and ugly.

This is a piece of fan fiction, a story that takes place on one of the conquered planets. Fans of Battlestar Galactica will probably recognize the characters, but I have left them unnamed. My hope is that the piece stands alone, with or without a backstory.

As always, I encourage you to read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story.

Maui from Mauna Kea, Photo by Doug MacIlroy

A Vision of Earth

by Jan Brown

He stood near the cliff with his lover, in awe of her beauty as well as the planet’s.

“Is this what you imagine Earth looks like?” she asked.

“I hope to live long enough to find out.”

“Not if the humans find out you betrayed them. I can protect you.”

“How?”

She walked to the edge of the cliff, a mirage beckoning him to follow. As she vanished into the clouds, he reached out for her, but felt a tug from behind. His pilot said gruffly, “Time to go.”

Had God protected him? Had his lover tricked him? Or both?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

32 thoughts on “A Vision of Earth

  1. A good piece of surreal sci-fi. I read the story before I read the explanation connecting it to BSG. I actually like it better as an independent piece! Well done! 🙂

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I appreciate the feedback that it works even better as an independent piece.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      Have a great weekend,

      Jan

  2. Great story in its own right, but I watched every episode of BSG (I’m quite a sci-fi fan) so relating it to the characters added extra depth for me.

    I think it is Six doing the luring? And possibly Gayas (spelling?) being drawn? I’m struggling to remember it all, now! 😉

  3. I think your story stands well by itself, and you don’t need to know the back story of Battlestar Galactica. I haven’t seen any of the new series, and I really enjoyed the story. We certainly do have a beautiful planet, and thanks for the reminder to take a moment and appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

