Guarding Manny

It’s almost time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  She graciously posts the photo on Wednesday each week, which allows most of us to actually post our story before Friday. In other words, she accommodates procrastinators like me!

This week’s photo is by Managua Gunn.

As always, I encourage you to read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story. Enjoy!

copyright-managua-gunn

Guarding Manny

by Jan Brown

As I stand guard, I watch tourists and office workers shop, eat their lunch and enjoy the harbor. They throw scraps into the bay, to be snatched by hungry seagulls that honk with delight.

I see Manny waiting for lunch bags to be tossed in the garbage….the seagulls’ leftovers.

Manny is a vet like me. Unlike me, he lives on the street. He keeps asking for my helmet. He believes it’ll protect him from the government’s mind control rays.

All I can offer him is my morning muffin. Fortunately, the blueberries have superpowers that keep the evil rays in check.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



45 thoughts on “Guarding Manny

  1. Pingback: The Changing of the Guards – Friday Fictioneers | Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat, Dilettante.

  2. A very different take on the prompt. It’s sad just how many former heroes there like Manny who are living on the streets – anyone who serves their country in the military is a hero in my mind.

Leave a Reply

