The Searing Wind

Today’s NaPoWriMo.net challenge is to write a pantun, a lovely and mysterious form of Malay poetry.  The quatrain is composed of two separate parts which have only a whisper of relation to one another, but is often about love.  I’m afraid my metaphor is a little too obvious, but I like it anyway:

~~~~~~~~~~

the storm, the searing wind, the pounding hail

flattened every flower and blade of grass

your love flies through my soul, a seething gale

lays waste my heart and makes of me an ass

~~~~~~~~~~

More information on the Malay pantun (and the French/English pantoum) is available in this early 20th century version of the Encyclopedia Brittanica.

4 thoughts on “The Searing Wind

  1. Nice try! That’s quite a lovely one! 🙂

    I am from Indonesia, the Malay language is adopted into Indonesian. I wrote quite a few pantun last year. Let me know if you’re interested in reading. Take care, and many blessings and much love to you.

Leave a Reply

