Another NaPoWriMo Challenge

This challenge is to write a poem in which every line is a declarative sentence, with the exception of the last line, which is to be a question. Hmmm….

The Obituary

by Jan Brown
 

“M. Jean Paul Thibault died suddenly on Saturday night.”

I never knew your middle name till I read the obituary.

But I had memorized every curve of your face, every line of your body.

“He left a wife and two children.”

If you had left them earlier, as you promised, you would still be alive.

If you had come with me to Paris, as you promised, you would still be alive.

“He died from injuries sustained in a hit-and-run accident.”

I’m a little banged up, myself.

Shall I wear red to your funeral, darling?

4 thoughts on “Another NaPoWriMo Challenge

Leave a Reply

