National Poetry Month Continues….

April is National Poetry Month. You can celebrate by writing a poem every day, reading a poem every day, or hugging a poet every day 🙂

Today’s poem is based on a writing prompt provided by NaPoWriMo.net. The challenge is to write a poem with a title based on the name of a spacecraft in one of Iain M. Banks’ science fiction novels. His sentient starships have odd, sarcastic names like “Nervous Energy,” “Of Course I Still Love You,” “Unfortunate Conflict of Interest” and “Lightly Seared on the Reality Grill.” I hope you enjoy the one I chose.

Double the Rubble (Artist Concept)

A Fine Disregard for Awkward Facts

like an asteroid slamming into the Earth

at 10,000 miles per hour

you delivered the news

but I chose to ignore the impact

as my heart was ripped out of my body

it landed on the floor

in a bloody mass of disconnected arteries

I asked for a bandaid

as you pulled your suitcases from the closet

and packed your belongings

you entered your (and her) new address in my iPhone

I organized your sock drawer

as her car pulled up in front of the house

I remarked how much I like BMWs

and followed you outside

hollering that you forgot your key

I grilled two steaks

poured two glasses of merlot

stared at the key and texted you:

“What time will u b home?”

3 thoughts on “National Poetry Month Continues….

Leave a Reply

