The Enchantment

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog. This week’s photo was provided by Scott Vanatter, used with permission (© Indira).

You can read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story.

gnarled-tree

The Enchantment

by Jan Brown

As a boy, my husband would sit in his yard and talk to the tree. He was convinced of a spirit dwelling within.

His grandmother told folktales of Yakshinis, beautiful and powerful tree nymphs. Yakshinis could reveal treasure, cure illness, and teach you how to enchant the hearts and minds of your fellow man (or woman).

But my husband was never wealthy, and his cancer was never cured.

Did the Yakshini fail him? No, she taught him well! He enchanted my heart.

Now, I talk to the tree. With each breeze, its branches enfold me, telling me I am loved.

*********************************************************************************



45 thoughts on “The Enchantment

  1. If it’s true that the Ash tree is the World Tree, according to Norse mythology, then its wisdom and ability to nurture is unsurprising.

    • Thank you! The yakshinis are tree deities associated with the ashoka tree in India. When I saw the photo prompt, I was not too inspired, so I re-read an art book I have, that was hand made in India. It’s a gorgeous, colorful book, printed by hand on lusciously thick black paper, entitled “The Night Life of Trees.” That got me interested in tree spirits as the subject matter for my little story. Glad you liked it!

  2. Once as a parlor game with my family we asked the question: If you could come back as a tree what would you be. I don’t know that my father ever answered but the wife he left behind swears his spirit is in that big oak out back.

Leave a Reply

