Bang

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

You can read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story.

copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Bang

by Jan Brown

Bang.

The neighbor’s tree is down. Took the electric line down with it.

As evening comes, I’m reading my Kindle in a dark family room. I light the oil lamps. Spooky atmosphere complete. Isn’t this how teen horror movies start?

Bang. Bang.

Quarter-size hail plops on the roof.  I long for conversation with someone other than the electric company, but don’t want to drain the battery in my iPhone. Damn.

Bang. Bang. Bang.

Someone’s breaking in. Or out. What part of the teen movie is this???

Bang. Bang. Bang. Bang.

Oh. Right. I grab the window. Slam it shut.

Bang.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



47 thoughts on “Bang

  1. Jan, what I liked about this is how you led us to the edge of wondering each time what terrible thing was going to happen…and then led us away from that–reverse twists in a way. But then the last “Band” could be something else entirely, so you have us vacillating–good? bad? good? bad? I can also identify with not wanting to drain the phone (and hopefully her Kindle was fully charged).

    Seems like the people mostly likely to die in teen horror movies are first all teens, teen babysitters being the most at risk or teens who are for some unknown reason, out in the wild at night during a story and old people. 🙂

    janet

  2. This one had me going from paranoia to oh-it-was-nothing and back and forth till the very end. And the end was like all fears coming to life.
    Good work Jan

  3. Dear Jan,
    You captured what was really going on at the time I snapped the picture. The only thing you missed was the smoke detectors going off in every room. 😉
    Well done story that ended with a bang.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  4. This reminded me of the several times electricity has gone off in my house. I like the reactions you describe, of spooky atmosphere and imagination going, with thoughts of teen horror movies.

Leave a Reply

