Thoughts on Lent

Just completed Day 30 in my Lenten reading plan on YouVersion. (I highly recommend YouVersion for anyone who wants to have convenient access to a searchable Bible and flexible, meaningful reading plans or devotions.)

I ran across a lovely prayer written by F.B. Meyer (1847-1929). Here is an excerpt:

“…that I may daily do something to lessen the tide of human sorrow, and add to the sum of human happiness.”

It reminded me of a wonderful quote from one of my favorite poets (which I am drawing from memory, and hope I have it right):

“We are here to do good unto others. What the others are here for, I do not know.” – W.H. Auden

I hope that you and your significant others experience a very grand sum of happiness during this holy season. God bless!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Lent

Leave a Reply

