Cat Eyes

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  This week’s photo is by Scott Vannatter.

You can read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story.

Enjoy!

Photo copyright Scott L. Vannatter

Cat Eyes

by Jan Brown

I wasn’t prepared for the cat.

My client had provided all the necessary information – home and office addresses, Google maps, room layouts, photos. I had even asked about children and pets. According to the client, there were none.

The cat first appeared in my night vision goggles. Two perfectly round shining orbs, the reaction of its feline tapetum lucidum to infrared light.

It jumped onto the table, then onto my neck, hissing and meowing. Screaming. (Or was that me?)

The light flicked on, my prospective target ran into the room, grabbed my gun and turned it on me.

Damn cat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

28 thoughts on “Cat Eyes

  1. It might be a hit man or Jan’s famous hit woman. I hope this isn’t the end of her! Maybe there will be a sequel next week?

    Carma

  2. This reminded me of a time as a kid when I had unlocked our main door to encounter the scariest radium like eyes in the world! The room was completely dark so I could not see the rest of the cat. Just two eyes glared at me from the distance. I quietly locked the door again and ran away to where my parents were.
    Since that day, cat and I don’t see eye to eye.
    lol.
    Nice work!

Leave a Reply

