Office Job

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, when writers from around the world post 100-word stories based on a photo prompt provided on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  This week’s photo is by Rich Voza.

You can read other Friday Fictioneers’ work by clicking the link that appears below my story.

Enjoy!

Photo by Rich Voza

Office Job

by Jan Brown

I really hate these shared offices.

It’s my job to prepare the property for occupancy. Today, I came in early to install pseudo-artwork in the bare hallway and put tenants’ names on the faux-mahogany doors. Some of them were already moving in.

The suites will be occupied by attorneys, tax accountants and psychologists. Sounds like a one-stop-shop for divorcing couples. I wondered how long it would be before we encountered hysterics and/or violence.

I walked into the conference room and got my answer. One of the lawyers lay dead on the new hardwood floor.

I really hate these shared offices.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



39 thoughts on “Office Job

  1. I, too, liked the manner of factual narration and the repetition of the last line against the surprise of the already-dead lawyer. I always believe it was better to have one’s own office and now I know why. 🙂

  2. Well, dead lawyers don’t lie (perhaps they lay). Sweep him up and chunk him down the chute. There’s plenty more to take his place.

  3. Dear Jan,

    “A good start.” (punchline to “What do you call one dead lawyer in the office next door?”)

    Loved your story. Really captured the sterile feel of the corridor and the probable thoughts of any forced to work there long. Good job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

