In the case of Prey v. Predator

This story is my first attempt at participation in the Friday Fictioneers. Each week, Madison Woods  posts a photo prompt, and flash fiction writers around the world submit 100-word stories in response. You can read the other submisions this week via the link at the end of my story. There is also a Facebook Page for Friday Fictioneers.

My metamorphosis allowed me to see things differently. In my youth, my environment was stagnant, holding the stench of your filth and trapping me in it. Now, I flit through the coolness of the day, I pause to enjoy the respite of nature, and I lay in wait to enjoy your capture.  You are a thief and a liar, stealing youth and innocence. Am I a delicate damsel now? Do you see me in distress? Ha! I hover near you as a damselfly to a spider. I and my lawyers will snatch you from your web of wickedness and devour you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Click the link below to read more Friday Fictioneer stories:


38 thoughts on “In the case of Prey v. Predator

    • Thank you for pointing that out.

      “Ha!” was intended to be a kind of turning point from metaphor to real life. At that point, the prey informs the predator (possibly her abuser or sexual predator) that she is no longer a weak damsel, and is going to “eat him alive” in court, as the saying goes. (That’s what damselflies do to small spiders in the natural world, literally snatch them from their webs and eat them alive.)

      So…perhaps I am watching too much “Law and Order: Special Victims” and now seeing natural events through that filter!!!

  1. Welcome to the Fictioneers! Such a fascinating first entry, I do hoep you come back. The metaphor was powerful and played out excellently, and I enjoyed reading it a second time knowing better where you were taking me, as much as the first.
    I am normally no fan of exclamations in fiction, but in this one I’m going to disagree with Craig. The “Ha!” absolutely captured the character and her resilience for me.
    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/friday-fiction-the-crossing/

    • Thank you so much! My sense is that women may have related more strongly to that “Ha!” moment. I’m glad you enjoyed the metaphor and the story. Thank you again for your review and for your warm welcome to the Fictioneers.

Leave a Reply

