more than a haiku

she experienced
God’s grace in the hospital
holding His strong hand

When I was in the hospital with six bags of assorted medicines being pushed through the intravenous thingamajig, I felt like I was on my last chubby leg (and I actually was).  The two female pastors who visited me during this time were amazing, and along with my two BFFs, they kept me physically and spiritually alive. One was a petite elderly lady who spoke softly and had personal conversations with me.  She asked me if I had ever read Paul’s letter to the Philippians, especially the closing.  I’m sure I had read Philippians at one time, but it was years ago, so she refreshed my memory by reciting the promise of Philippians 4:19.

And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

Then she held my hand and prayed. Her voice boomed with such a surprising volume that it must have reverberated up to the heavens and beyond!

As she prayed, she repeated Paul’s promise, and I felt God’s power in that moment. Hearing the voice of the pastor, holding the hand of God.

2 thoughts on “more than a haiku

  1. Thank you, Samantha! Getting well is a slow process, involving some hard work at physical therapy, but I am occasionally blessed with patience, and always blessed with love and the power of prayer,

Leave a Reply

